How to Make and Use the Best ACT Flashcards?

I'm studying for the ACT and keep on forgetting words and concepts. Are flashcards appropriate for me? Can they help me memorize information? What ACT topics are best suited for flashcards?

If you’re prepping for the ACT and struggling to retain certain concepts, flashcards can be a great way to memorize the information you need to know. However, flashcards are only really best to use to help with ACT vocabulary and ACT Math formulas.

alt text

I do not recommend using flashcards for the other sections (English and Science). I also do not recommend using flashcards as your only study method. While flashcards are helpful in preparing for the ACT, you need to be learning the ACT strategies and taking practice tests.

In this article, I’ll explain how to create ACT flashcards for vocabulary and math formulas and how to study with the flashcards.

Why You Should Make Your Own ACT Flashcards

I recommend making your own ACT flashcards by hand rather than buying pre-made flashcards or creating online flashcards (using a site like Quizlet). By creating your own flashcards, you'll start to learn the information before you even start using the flashcards. I recommend writing them out by hand because rather than creating online cards because when you create the cards online you might be tempted to copy and paste information onto the flashcards without taking the time to read it. Making physical flashcards will force you to read and transcribe all of the material, which means you'll review the material.

If you're pressed for time, you can check out our guide to the best ACT vocabulary lists on the web which includes links to online ACT flashcards you can use. But, again, if you have the time, make your own physical flashcards.

Creating ACT Vocabulary Flashcards